Lifetime Achievement Recipients

IAHTM Names Janice Larson, John Sealey 2019 Lifetime Achievement Recipients

Powell, OH – Oct. 2019 – The International Association for Healthcare Textile Management (IAHTM) has named Janice Larson and John Sealey “2019 Lifetime Achievement” recipients.  Larson and Sealey received their awards at the IAHTM’s annual meeting, held recently in Scottsdale, AZ. 

Generally, IAHTM established its Lifetime Achievement award in 2015. The award recognizes an individual or individuals for their career-long contributions and accomplishments in the textile industry.

Janice Larson, a 40-year veteran of the healthcare industry, recently retired as vice president of clinical resources and consulting for Encompass Group LLC, McDonough, GA. She was nominated for the award by Joe Przepiorka of Encompass. Among the many endorsements submitted on behalf of her nomination, Melanie Miller RN CVAHP CNOR had this to say about Larson: “Janice Larson is a powerful strategist, educator, analyst, mentor, and leader. Melanie Miller also added that Janice has always been the face of the textile industry,going the extra step on behalf of patients and caregivers nationally and globally.

John Sealey, a 40-year industry veteran, retired earlier this year. Moreover, he was the chief operating officer of London Hospital Linen Service Inc. (LHLS), London, ON, Canada. Brendan O’Neill of LHLS nominated him to be one of the Lifetime Achievement Recipients. In addition, O’Neill commented: “Throughout his career, John has supported the development of all those who worked for him, and those in the industry… Continuous education and development have been hallmarks of his legacy… Also, his vast experience in all components of the laundry operation (production, finance, administration, HR, compliance, purchasing, IT, and maintenance) is unique.”

IAHTM Board President Myles Noel (CEO, COMTEX) presented the awards and highlighted the recipients’ achievements. He commended Janice and John for their drive for business excellence, expertise in healthcare linen and textiles, and continued involvement with professional associations. According to Noel, these qualities made them the top choices for this year’s awards. He concluded by saluting both recipients.